© 2012 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

01/05/2012 4:41 PM EST

Chicago Cubs announce 2012 Cubs Caravan Tour

CHICAGO – The Chicago Cubs have announced the 2012 Cubs Caravan Tour, which includes the winner of the 2012 Cubs Caravan Visits My School Contest. The annual Cubs Caravan will feature two buses of players, coaches and front office personnel, including President of Baseball Operations Theo Epstein, Executive Vice President/General Manager Jed Hoyer and Manager Dale Sveum. The tour will visit seven schools, two hospitals and a police station on January 11 and 12. The Caravan will also stop at the Libertyville Sports Complex, Lincoln-Belmont Library, O’Brien Field/River Plex and the USO of Illinois at the Great Lakes Naval Academy.

The Cubs Caravan will make an appearance at Ernst Prussing Elementary School, winner of the Cubs Caravan Visits My School Contest. Ernst Prussing (4650 N. Menard Ave., Chicago, IL) was selected as the winner of a Cubs Caravan visit because of the school’s enthusiasm and inclusion of Chicago Cubs baseball into its curriculum. The faculty integrated the team’s schedule and statistics into classroom assignments, including geography lessons based on the team's away games, math problems using player earned run averages and winning percentages, and writing assignments that include drafting player biographies. Students are encouraged to wear Cubs attire instead of their school uniforms on Opening Day, and students sing "Go Cubs Go" during the morning announcements. The school participated in a walk-a-thon to support Juvenile Diabetes research—a trademark cause of beloved Cubs Hall of Famer Ron Santo. The school's list of Cubs-related activities has earned them a well-deserved visit from their favorite team.

The 2012 Cubs Caravan itineraries follow:




Scheduled attendees: Darwin Barney (1/11 & 1/12), Jeff Beliveau (1/12), Randy Bush (1/11), Tony Campana (1/11), Chris Carpenter (1/11), Andrew Cashner (1/11 & 1/12), David DeJesus (1/11), Theo Epstein (1/11), Jed Hoyer (1/12), Rudy Jaramillo (1/11 & 1/12), Len Kasper (1/11), Jason McLeod (1/12), Keith Moreland (1/12), Shiraz Rehman (1/11), James Russell (1/12), Lester Strode (1/11 & 1/12), Dale Sveum (1/12), Matt Szczur (1/11), Josh Vitters (1/11), Randy Wells (1/12)



January 11

10 a.m. – Lake View High School – Chicago


11 a.m. – Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse – Chicago (Cubs Caravan Luncheon)


1:30 p.m. – Perspectives Math & Science Academy – Chicago


3:30 p.m. – Children’s Memorial Hospital – Chicago



January 12

9 a.m. – Ernst Prussing Elementary School – Chicago


10:30 a.m. – Lane Tech College Prep High School – Chicago


12 p.m. – 23rd District Police Station Officer Appreciation Luncheon – Chicago


3 p.m. – Libertyville Sports Complex – Libertyville, IL


4:30 p.m. – USO of Illinois – Great Lakes, IL



Scheduled attendees: Jeff Beliveau (1/11), Joe Bohringer (1/12), Chris Bosio (1/11 & 1/12), Randy Bush (1/12), Tony Campana (1/12), Chris Carpenter (1/12), Casey Coleman (1/11 & 1/12), Jed Hoyer (1/11), Brett Jackson (1/12), Dave McKay (1/11 & 1/12), Jason McLeod (1/11), Keith Moreland (1/11), Dave Otto (1/12), Jamie Quirk (1/11 & 1/12), Shiraz Rehman (1/12), James Russell (1/11), Dale Sveum (1/11), Matt Szczur (1/12), Josh Vitters (1/12), Randy Wells (1/11)




January 11

9:30 a.m. – Advocate Illinois Masonic Pediatric Development Center – Chicago


11 a.m. – Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse – Chicago (Cubs Caravan Luncheon)


1:30 p.m. – Orr Academy – Chicago


3:30 p.m. – Chicago Public Library: Lincoln-Belmont Branch – Chicago



January 12

9 a.m. – James B. Conant High School – Hoffman Estates, IL


10:30 a.m. – Ridge Family Center for Learning – Elk Grove Village, IL


3 p.m. – O’Brien Field/River Plex – Peoria, IL



This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.