© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/17/08 2:53 PM EST

Ramirez among top 10 in MVP vote

Cubs slugger receives 66 points; Soto, Lee also earn recognition

CHICAGO -- The Cubs' Aramis Ramirez, Geovany Soto and Derrek Lee all received votes in the National League Most Valuable Player balloting, announced Monday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

St. Louis slugger Albert Pujols won the award for the second time in his career, and was the only player to be named on all 32 ballots.

Ramirez finished in the top 10, receiving two third-place votes, four fourth-place votes, one fifth-place vote, one sixth-place vote, four seventh-place votes, three eighth-place votes and one ninth-place vote for 66 points. The third baseman batted .289 with 27 homers and 111 RBIs and was named to the All-Star team for the second time in his career.

Soto, who won the NL Rookie of the Year Award earlier this month, received three fourth-place votes, one fifth-place vote, three seventh-place votes and one ninth-place vote for 41 points. Elected the starting catcher for the All-Star Game, Soto hit .285 with 23 homers and 86 RBIs in his first season.

Lee, who batted .291 with 20 homers and 90 RBIs, received one fourth-place and one sixth-place vote for 10 points.

Sammy Sosa was the last Cubs player to win the MVP Award, doing so in 1998.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.