To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

04/01/2007 3:07 PM ET
Cubs set Opening Day roster
Pitchers Kerry Wood and Juan Mateo placed on disabled list; outfielder Buck Coats optioned to Triple-A Iowa
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
CINCINNATI, OHIO - The Chicago Cubs today set their Opening Day 25-man roster in advance of their 2007 season opener tomorrow afternoon in Cincinnati.

The 2007 Opening Day roster includes 12 pitchers, two catchers, seven infielders and four outfielders. Right-hander Kerry Wood will begin the season on the 15-day disabled list with right shoulder tendinitis, as will right-hander Juan Mateo (right shoulder impingement). Outfielder Buck Coats has been optioned to Triple-A Iowa.

The Cubs open their 132nd National League season tomorrow afternoon with a 2:10 (eastern time) game against the Reds. After three with the Reds and three in Milwaukee next weekend, the Cubs make their Wrigley Field debut at 1:20 p.m. on Monday, April 9 against the Houston Astros, the start of an eight-game homestand. After three with the Astros (April 9-11), the Reds come to town for three games (April 13-15) before the Cubs close out their inaugural 2007 homestand with a two-game set against the San Diego Padres April 16-17.

Here's a look at the Cubs 2007 Opening Day roster:

PITCHERS (12 + 2 D.L.)
13-Will Ohman, LHP
21-Jason Marquis, RHP
30-Ted Lilly, LHP
34-Kerry Wood, RHP (15-Day D.L.)
37-Angel Guzman, RHP
38-Carlos Zambrano, RHP
43-Michael Wuertz, RHP
46-Ryan Dempster, RHP
47-Scott Eyre, LHP
48-Neal Cotts, LHP
51-Juan Mateo, RHP (15-Day D.L.)
52-Wade Miller, RHP
53-Rich Hill, LHP
62-Bob Howry, RHP

8-Michael Barrett
24-Henry Blanco

2-Ryan Theriot
3-Cesar Izturis
5-Ronny Cedeno
7-Mark DeRosa
16-Aramis Ramirez
25-Derrek Lee
32-Daryle Ward

11-Jacque Jones
12-Alfonso Soriano
15-Cliff Floyd
19-Matt Murton

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page