To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Game over: Gagne wins Cy Young
Dodger closer Eric Gagne was named winner of the 2003 National League Cy Young Award by the BBWAA, snapping Randy Johnson's four-year stranglehold on the award. Gagne became the first Dodger to win the Cy since Orel Hershiser in 1988 and the first reliever since Oakland's Dennis Eckersley in 1992.
Gagne highlights: 56K | 300K
Cy completes Halladay's turnaround
Two years after having to return to the low minors to make himself over as a pitcher, Roy Halladay is the AL Cy Young Award winner. Halladay, who won 22 games and pitched nine complete games, is the fourth winner from the Blue Jays in the last eight seasons. More >
Halladay highlights: 56K | 300K

^ Halladay
Player 1 2 3 Total Player 1 2 3 Total
Halladay 26 2 - 136 Gagne 28 2 -- 146
Loaiza 2 16 5 63 Schmidt 2 17 12 73
Martinez - 3 11 20 Prior 2 11 17 60
Hudson -- 4 3 15 Ortiz -- 2 3 9
Moyer - 2 6 12          
Pettitte - 1 1 4          
Foulke - - 1 1          
Santana - - 1 1          
2002 winners:   AL: Barry Zito, OAK    NL: Randy Johnson, ARI    All-time winners >
Cy Young Award: A History
The Cy Young Award was created at the instigation of Commissioner Ford Frick. Noting that pitchers received only occasional recognition in the MVP voting, Frick pushed for the establishment of a separate award for pitchers. Cy Young (left), holder of the record for most victories, had just passed away, so his name was both the obvious and sentimental choice to adorn the award. More>

Jump to an award:
Cy Young Award