PrintPrint © 2006 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

2006 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger teams announced
11/10/2006 4:29 PM ET
LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- It was a good year to have never won a Louisville Slugger® Silver Slugger Award. At least that's what the 2006 Silver Slugger winners list indicates. A surprising 13 of the 18 winners take home their first Silver Slugger Award this year. The list isn't without some familiar names, however. Boston slugger Manny Ramirez notched his eighth consecutive Silver Slugger trophy and his ninth overall. Ramirez's selection tied him with Barry Larkin for third place all-time in total number of Silver Slugger honors. Barry Bonds (12) and Mike Piazza (10) are the only players with more.

Louisville Slugger's Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball® coaches and managers. The votes were for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2006. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches' and managers' general impressions of a player's overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

In the American League, Vladimir Guerrero of the Angels wins his sixth Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award overall and his third in a row. Boston's David Ortiz earned his third honor, each of them coming in the last three years. All other AL Silver Slugger Awards, sans Ramirez, are going to first-time recipients.

In the National League, Washington's Alfonso Soriano earned his fourth award overall, but his first in the NL. Florida's Miguel Cabrera was voted to the squad for the second straight year, but shifted to third base after winning a spot in the NL outfield in 2005. The remaining NL recipients are first-time winners.

2006 Silver Slugger Winners
American League

1B - Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins
2B - Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
3B - Joe Crede, Chicago White Sox
SS - Derek Jeter, New York Yankees
OF - Jermaine Dye, Chicago White Sox
OF - Vladimir Guerrero, Los Angeles Angels
OF - Manny Ramirez, Boston Red Sox
C - Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins
DH - David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox

National League
1B - Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies
2B - Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies
3B - Miguel Cabrera, Florida Marlins
SS - Jose Reyes, New York Mets
OF - Carlos Beltran, New York Mets
OF - Alfonso Soriano, Washington Nationals
OF - Matt Holliday, Colorado Rockies
C - Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
P - Carlos Zambrano, Chicago Cubs

Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and New York Mets outfielder Carlos Beltran lead the list of first-time winners. Teammates are also a theme on this year's list. The Twins (Joe Mauer and Justin Morneau), White Sox (Jermaine Dye and Joe Crede), Yankees (Jeter and Robinson Cano) and Red Sox (Ramirez and Ortiz) all have two representatives in the American League. The Phillies (Ryan Howard and Chase Utley) and Mets (Beltran and Jose Reyes) have a pair of winners in the National League. Yankees outfielder Gary Sheffield had his streak of three straight awards snapped while St. Louis first baseman Albert Pujols was denied for a second straight year.

The specially designed Silver Slugger Award will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the Official Bat of Major League Baseball, in a ceremony early in the 2006 season. The trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league.

The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by H&B in 1980 as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award which is, as its name indicates, a silver-plated bat presented by Louisville Slugger to the batting champions in the AL and NL.

This year's Silver Bat Award winners are Freddie Sanchez of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Joe Mauer of the Minnesota Twins. Sanchez hit .344 to win the NL batting title while playing three different positions in 2006. Mauer led the major leagues in batting with a .347 average and claimed the AL honor. Both will receive their Silver Bat Awards in on-field presentations early in the 2007 season.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Cubs Homepage   |